Matey's Restaurant on Urbanspoon

I ate here a month or so ago, wanting to wait until it was warm enough to sit outside. We sat outside downstairs. We weren't sure what to do when we walked in, as there was no one there to seat us. We just kind of wandered in until a girl who worker there saw us and said to seat ourselves. There was one group sitting outside when we got there. The girl who was our waitress seemed nervous, like she was new to waitressing. Your drinks there come in disposable plastic cups, and we almost had to track down our waitress to refill them. There was a lot on the menu that looked good. I ordered a shrimp basket and my friend ordered a chicken sandwich. The food was hot, esp the waffle fries, they were pretty much amazing. I was in a deep fried heaven. The shrimp was good, not tasteless like a lot of places. But it wasn't to die for either. Sad to say, Long John Silver's has my favorite shrimp-it has the most flavor! Anyway, did I mention the waffle fries? Oh yeah. ;P As far as speed, service wasn't bad, we didn't wait forever, but it wasn't quick.

For the atmosphere, I could close my eyes and think I was on vacation. It was the chatter, the music, and then my plastic cup and all the seafood available, I liked that. But it doesn't seem like a very family oriented place. I don't think my 7 year old nephew would love it there, and I like to go where my family likes to go. The prices were a little higher than I liked. 

Bottom line: The best way to explain it is that if someone wanted to go here, I wouldn't object, but I wouldn't suggest going here if my friends and I were looking for a place to eat. 

3/5 stars.

Would I go back? Yes

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am the MC Foodie. I am a foodie, I love food. I want to review food, and share my experiences with people. 

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012

    Categories

    All

    Restaurants to try:
    Matey's _CHECK!_
    The Tree House Cafe
    Bridge's Waterside Grille_CHECK!_
    Stop 50 Wood Fired Pizzeria_CHECK!_
    Rodini's
    Scartozzi's Trattoria
    Miller Pizza by the Beach_CHECK!_
    La Azteca
    Station 801
    Maxine's
    Duneland Beach Inn
    Cafe Elite and Catering
    El Cajete _CHECK_
    Mc Ginnis
    Benny's